Panasonic Lumix LX3

I usually document experiences with old analogue cameras, but I also like cheap or old digital gear. About a decade ago I purchased a Panasonic Lumix LX3, a compact camera with a 24-60mm f2.0-2.8 Leica Summicron lens. I still have it, despite not using it for maybe 3-4 years or more now. It was branded a high-end compact in its day and I used it as my primary camera for a year or so, and as a back up after that. This is not a review, it is just a glimpse of my experience with the camera,

What attracted me to this little camera was it was stealthy and small, it produced some nice colours (and had an interesting B&W mode), shot RAW if needed and I liked the simple design that was slightly retro. I wanted a street shooter, I never had been able to get many street shots before and the LX3 was silent and small and allowed me to get close.

The sensor was small, and there was little margin for error getting a good shot and I moved on to a Nikon DSLR then the Fuji X100 afterwards, but I still had some good experiences with the LX3. Mostly I found it produced some nice results with long exposures, with nice colours. I also found it had some interesting results shooting high contrast B&W and also I was able to get closer with some street photography.

Below are a few samples of my time with the LX3.

Flickr Instagram

P1050463
Anapji Pond, Gyeongju, South Korea, LX3 long exposure
P1060971 copy
Hamilton Markets, Brisbane, LX3 with in-camera pinhole effect
kor126 copy2
Seoul. Lumix LX3
15223430502_9348cf2881_o
Brisbane, Lumix LX3
sub3
Seoul, Lumix LX3
P1050723 copy
Seoul, Lumix LX3 (in-camera B&W contrast)
trad13 copy
Incheon, Lumix LX3 (in-camera B&W contrast)
DSCF2898
The Lumix LX3

Leave a comment